Testing for Null Properties on CellFormat

I am relatively new to using Aspose Words, but it seems there must be a better way to do this.

I’m trying to test for various properties on CellFormat. It seems that there is no good way to test if these are null without deliberately raising an exception.

This code throws a NullReferenceException
if (cell.CellFormat.Shading.BackgroundPatternColor != null )

I have worked around this type of problem in what I think is a bad and inefficient way such as

private bool IsBorderVisible(Border border)
{
    bool visible = false;

try
    {
        visible = border.IsVisible;
    }
    catch
    {
        visible = false;
    }
    return visible;
}

Additionally, other than testing each property for null, is there a way to see if the CellFormat has any properties with values? If I could do a simple test to see if the CellFormat was not using any properties, that would be ideal.

Thanks.

Hi Dan,

Thanks for your inquiry. Please use following code example to get the CellFormat’s properties value. Hope this helps you.

Please let us know if you have any more queries.

Document doc = new Document(MyDir + "in.docx");
Cell cell = (Cell)doc.GetChild(NodeType.Cell, 0, true);
GetProperties(cell.CellFormat);
public static void GetProperties(Object source)
{
    // Iterate through each property in the source object.
    foreach (PropertyInfo prop in source.GetType().GetProperties())
    {
        object value;
        try
        {
            value = prop.GetValue(source, null);
        }
        catch (Exception)
        {
            continue;
        }
        if (value != null)
        {
            Console.WriteLine("Property Name : {0}, Property Value : {1} ", prop.Name, prop.GetValue(source, null));
        }
    }
}

Thanks Tahir.

I went to try this and it is telling me " The type or namespace name ‘PropertyInfo’ could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)