A really newbie quesiton: problems adding a reference to Aspose.Words

I’m just getting started with both Visual Studio 2005 and Aspose.Words, so forgive the really basic question.

I’ve created a new Web Site and used “Add Reference” to pull in Aspose.Words. In the Solution Explorer pane, under the Bin directory, I see “Aspose.Words.dll” and “Aspose.Words.xml”.

I’ve dropped a button onto the Default.aspx page and I’m coding directly in the button. My first problem is that in the VB code for the button, I cannot use:

Dim doc as Document = new Document("c:\test\test.doc")

Instead I have to use

Dim doc as Aspose.Words.Document = new Aspose.Words.Document("c:\test\test.doc")
TextBox1.Text = doc.BuiltinProperties.Title

How can I add that namespace to the website project so I don’t have to refer to it (Aspose.Words.Document)? (I’m a Java developer coming into the .NET world for the first time! I didn’t see an “import” statement).

My second problem is that (even with the explicit namespace), when I run the very simple code above, I get an error:

Aspose.Words.PleaseReportException was unhandled by user code
Message="**Unknown complex shape property id:910**. For free technical support, please post this error and the file in the Aspose.Words Forums http://www.aspose.com/forums/ShowForum.aspx?ForumID=75."
Source="Aspose.Words"

Thanks for your help. My company will become a (paying) customer as soon as I can get the trial version to work!

Okay, I’ve discovered “Imports” and resolved the namespace problem.

I’m still getting the error message however when the line 3 (below) executes:

Unknown complex shape property id:910. For free technical support, please post this error and the file in the Aspose.Words Forums http://www.aspose.com/forums/ShowForum.aspx?ForumID=75.

I have been successful in using Aspose.Words to create a new document, but I just can’t open an existing file. Very puzzling.

Here’s my complete (very simple, but non-working) code: