Extract Mailmergefield from within Includepicture

Hi All,

I’m new to Aspose (excuse my bad english). We are using wordautomation for mailmerge purposes. We want to go away from automation and are now using the Aspose tools. We are using INCLUDEPICTURE Mergefield ‘fieldname’ in our existing word templates. I read that this is not supported by Aspose. Instead I have to use image:Mergefield ‘fieldname’. Because our customers can create their own templates, I have to change this 'on the fly’
Now I’m looking for a codesample to search all INCLUDEPICTURE-fields, check if there is a mergefield instead of a filename, extract the mergefield and replace the construction with image:Mergefield ‘fieldname’.
Can anyone help me

Thanks

Regards
Manfred

Hi Manfred,
Thanks for your inquiry. I think, you can achieve what you need after reading the article suggested here:
https://docs.aspose.com/words/net/working-with-form-fields/
I hope, this will help.
Best Regards,

Hi Manfred,

Thanks for your inquiry.

In addition, I can think of another way you may want to use to process such merge fields without doing any field replacement.

First a little bit a background. The reason why such a setup can not be merged is because INCLUDEPICTURE fields are imported into Aspose.Words as Shape objects. This allows you to access image properties but at the same time restricts any extra parameters of the field, in this case the included merge field. This most likely won’t be fixed any time soon as this case doesn’t appear to often.

You can however still merge INCLUDEPICTURE fields which contain merge fields by using the work around below. Any nested field in INCLUDEPICTURE appears through the SourceFullName property. Using this we can parse the field name and insert a proper field into the model.

In the example below the merge field name in the picture field is called “ImagePath”.

doc.MailMerge.FieldMergingCallback = new HandleIncludePictureFields(doc);
doc.MailMerge.Execute(new string[]
{