IMailMergeDataSource with Sections

Hi there,

I am a complete beginner using aspose.word with Java and I am currently evaluating the product to check if it does suit our needs. So excuse me if my questions sounds silly.

I am trying to find out how to work with IMailMergeDataSource classes and Sections.

The scenario is as follows: We have one word template which contains our layout. It contains a number of fields as well as a number of nested tables. I created a bunch of IMailMergeDataSourcestyle objects with getValue and getChildDataSource methods. All works reasonably well and the final report does contain all we need nicely. It just so happens that we allow the user during runtime to change the order of paragraphs in the document, independent or their order in the wordfile. How can I achieve this?

I assumed that I should use Sections, but my Document does only contain one single Section.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Hi Thierry,

Thanks for your inquiry.

Thierry:
It just so happens that we allow the user during runtime to change the order of paragraphs in the document, independent or their order in the wordfile.

You can work with paragraph nodes while doing mail merge by implementing IMailMergeDataSource interface.Please read following documentation link for your kind reference.
https://docs.aspose.com/words/java/using-documentbuilder-to-modify-a-document/

It would be great if you please share some more information about your query (order of paragraphs). Please manually create your expected Word document using Microsoft Word and attach it here along with input template for our reference. We will investigate that how you want your final Word output be generated like. We will then provide you more information on this along with code.

Thierry:
I assumed that I should use Sections, but my Document does only contain one single Section.
Please note that the TableStart and TableEnd fields must be inside the same section in the document.