Newbie question - chart.toimage looks much different

Hello,

I am brand new to Aspose. We are considering using it as a charting engine in a Winforms VB.NET program. To test it, I took one of our existing spreadsheets, opened it using Aspose, and saved one of the charts in the spreadsheets to a jpg using the .ToImage function. Below is the code I used.

The resultant chart doesn’t contain any of the formatting of the original chart in the spreadsheet. Colors are different among other things.

I have attached a side by side showing the chart as it looks in Excel (left), and as it looked after the Aspose.ToImage method. Is there a way to get the two to look identical?

thank you,
matt tagliaferri

Dim wb As Workbook
Dim ws As Worksheet
Dim c As Chart

wb = New Workbook
Try
wb.Open(“C:\Documents and Settings\mtagliaf\Desktop\Datasheet2.xlsx”, FileFormatType.Excel2007Xlsx)
ws = wb.Worksheets(0)
c = ws.Charts(1)
c.ToImage(“c:\testimage.jpg”)
Catch ex As Exception
Debug.WriteLine(ex.Message)
End Try

Hi,

Thanks for considering Aspose.

Could you post your template excel file. We will check the issue soon.

Thank you.

File attached. I also modified my test code to export ALL charts on the first page (there are 5 charts in the sample spreadsheet). That test code is below (all work done in folder C:\Temp)

Using this test code, all 5 chart images do get exported, but all have the default Excel colors.

thanks for your prompt attention
matt tagliaferri

Dim wb As Workbook
Dim ws As Worksheet
Dim c As Chart
Dim cName As String

wb = New Workbook
Try
wb.Open(“C:\Temp\DatasheetAspose.xlsx”, FileFormatType.Excel2007Xlsx)
ws = wb.Worksheets(0)
For i As Integer = 0 To ws.Charts.Count - 1
c = ws.Charts(i)
cName = “c:\temp\testimage”
cName &= i.ToString
cName &= “.jpg”
c.ToImage(cName)
Next
Catch ex As Exception
Debug.WriteLine(ex.Message)
End Try

Hi,

Thanks for providing us the template file.