Rookie needs help

Edit: Okay, I was able to open the vbproj for the demo. Thanks…

Hi Guys,

As you can see from the subject I am a rookie in .NET development. I have managed to develop a web application using ASP.NET and VB.NET and design through HTML using Visual Studios .NET 2003. We are working on .NET framework 1.1 and using SQL Server 2000.

Basically, the application I have developed is an online report which provides sales data based on date's. Now the users are asking for download functionality into Microsoft Excel spreadsheet. My manager has provided me with this Aspose.Cells software and told me to implement the export functionality so users can download the online data into Microsoft Excel.

But I have no idea on how to proceed. Can anyone please help with the basic building blocks, etc? I tried looking at the demo but its just a bunch of spreadsheets with data inside them..it doesn't actually teach anything. I'm in a desperate situation and any advise/help would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Regards,

S

Hi,

Well, yes, Aspose.Cells has the capability to export data from a variety of data sources to MS Excel spreadsheets. You can use a number of methods / options for your task. E.g., Aspose.Cells.Cells class has a variety of methods i.e., ImportDataTable(), ImportArray, ImportDataGrid, ImportDataRow, ImportDataView etc.

Example Code:

Dim path As String path = Server.MapPath(".")
Dim db As String = path &"\Designer\Northwind.mdb"
Dim con As OleDbConnection = New OleDbConnection("provider=microsoft.jet.oledb.4.0;data source=" & db)

con.Open()
Dim cmd As OleDbCommand = New OleDbCommand("Select * from [Order Details]",con)
Dim da As OleDbDataAdapter = New OleDbDataAdapter()
da.SelectCommand = cmd

Dim ds As DataSet = New DataSet()
da.Fill(ds,"Order Details")
Dim dt As DataTable = ds.Tables("Order Details")
//Create a new workbook
Dim wd As Workbook = New Workbook()
//Get the first wroksheet in the workbook.