Table cell width in footer

I have been using Aspose Words for many years. Thank you for the fine product. However, a change occurred recently that breaks the rendering of tables in footers.

I need a two-row table where the first row has a single cell that is page-width, and the second row has three cells that are each one-third of the page wide. Recent versions of Words renders the first row correctly, but the first cell of the second row appears as page-width rather than the specified fixed column width.

It worked great in version 15.7, but has not worked in versions since then, including the current version 15.11.

I have attached a small piece of code that works correctly in 15.7, but not in 15.11.

Any ideas of settings I can change to get the proper output? Or when a fix might be published?

Thanks.

Hi Jerry,

Thanks for your inquiry. We tested the scenario and have managed to reproduce the same problem on our end. For the sake of correction, we have logged this problem in our issue tracking system as WORDSNET-12839. Our product team will further look into the details of this problem and we will keep you updated on the status of correction. We apologize for your inconvenience.

Best regards,

Hi Jerry,

Thanks for being patient. Regarding WORDSNET-12839, our product team has completed the work on your issue and has come to a conclusion that this issue and the undesired behavior you’re observing in latest versions of Aspose.Words is actually not a bug. So, we will close this issue as ‘Not a Bug’.

Starting from the version 15.8.0 of Aspose.Words, the new table layout algorithm is used. The old algorithm merged table cells depending on their widths, but the new algorithm does not perform any cell merging. You should merge cells explicitly in code. You should add other two cells into the first row and merge them with the first one. Here is changed code for the first table row in your example:

Dim doc As Aspose.Words.Document = New Aspose.Words.Document