We're sorry Aspose doesn't work properply without JavaScript enabled.

Free Support Forum - aspose.com

XFA frustration

I’m new to XFA and I’m having some trouble with navigating through a LiveCycle form with Aspose PDF for .NET.

I am trying to get/set some values that are buried several layers down into my form. Here’s what I have done so far: (C#)

Document doc = new Document(“E:\Aspose_In.pdf”);
XmlNode datasets = doc.Form.XFA.Datasets;
If I break I can what I think is the first XFA element, “xfa:datasets”. I see that datasets has 2 child nodes: “dd:dataDescription” and “xfa:data”. Repeating that process I can find the field that
I’m looking for, “linktext”. I’ve tried to build a path several different ways but can’t seem to make it work. Here’s one way:

XmlNode fieldNode = datasets.SelectSingleNode("//datasets/data/MainReport[0]/Page3[0]/item[0]/itemDetail[0]/linktext[0]");
I used this format because I used the code under the “Reading XFA Fields” from the Tips and Tricks page and it gave me the “path” of MainReport[0]/Page3[0]/item[0]/itemDetail[0]/linktext[0], which I’ve already tried as well.

Eventually I need to be able to loop through the “item” to get each of the “linktext” values, but I can’t seem to get the “path” correct so putting an index in wouldn’t help.
In LC Designer I use(JS):
xfa.resolveNode(“MainReport.Page3.item.#subform.linktext”).rawValue;
which works perfectly.

Back in C#, if I try and grab the first occurrence of “linktext” I get an “Object reference not set to an instance of an object” error. I assume this is because the syntax of my “path” is incorrect.

Can anyone help me out with this?

I looked at it some more and saw the code posted here. I ran that code thinking I’d get the same type of path that I posted above. But, that was not the case. I got

xfa:datasets/xfa:data/MainReport/Items/Item/ItemDetails/DetailsSection/linktext
I also went directly for the field’s data instead of going with
datasets.SelectSingleNode(“path”)