Detect cell in excel sheet if it has a vlook formula

Dear,

I am using 7.0.0.0 version of aspose.cells. I am new to aspose so it might be a basic question. Can you please tell me is there any way we can detect that in an excel file, do we have a vlookup formula on any cell? I have uploaded an excel file and in the basic salary column, we have a vlookup formula.

Kind Regards
Naveed Anjum

Hi Naveed,

Thank you for contacting Aspose support.

Please try the following piece of code that tries to search the formula VLOOKUP in the first worksheet of your provided spreadsheet. The results are B2, B3, B4 & B5.

C#

var book = new Workbook(“C:/temp/SampleFile.xls”);
var cells = book.Worksheets[0].Cells;
FindOptions opts = new FindOptions();
opts.LookInType = LookInType.OnlyFormulas;
opts.LookAtType = LookAtType.Contains;
opts.RegexKey = true;
Cell cell = null;
do
{
cell = cells.Find("=VLOOKUP", cell, opts);
if (cell != null)
{
Console.WriteLine(cell.Name);
}
} while (cell != null);

Hi Baber,

The solution that you provided is working fine. Actually we are creating an excel file using aspose from another excel file that the client has uploaded. When we open the client uploaded file, it shows us in protected view and it also has v lookup formulas. When we edit the file with protected view, some of the values in the v lookup columns are removed and shows hyphen. This might be due to the reason that it is looking for another file for v lookup formulas. Then we are using the below line of code to create the file.

Workbook workBook = new Workbook(“C:/123.xls”);

The problem is that the values in some of the v lookup formula column are gone and showing hyphen when we save the workbook. With above code, the cell that has hyphen(having some v lookup formula) is showing the calculated value. Can you please suggest why it is not showing the values when we create the workbook from client uploaded file but shows when we use the above code to read the cell?

Kind Regards
Naveed Anjum