Dynamic change of list of values for a drop-down field in Word document with Aspose.Words for java

I’m new to Aspose and I want to implement the following functionality for a words document field:

1. I have a field containing a drop down list of the Departments of a company.
  2. When I select one Company name, the field will change its list to show the Managers of that Department.
  3. Then, if I select one of the names, it is presented in the document.
  4. Now, the tricky part is, when I enter the same field one more, it will present again the list of Companies, and the sequence of steps continue as described above.

It’s a complex use case, but please let me know if this attainable with Aspose.Words.

@Zdimitris As far as I know there is no multilevel dropdown lists in MS Word documents. I think, the only way to achieve such behavior in MS Word document is using macros.
Aspose.Words is a document processing library and features you can implement in the output documents using Aspose.Words is limited to features supported by the target format itself. Using Aspose.Words you can work with macros in the document:
https://docs.aspose.com/words/java/working-with-vba-macros/
However, it would be easier to implement macros in MS Word and then use the created document as a template.
If it is requires to create such template programmatically using Aspose.Words, then please create the expected output document using MS Word and attach it here for our reference. We will investigate it and let you know how to create the same document using Aspose.Words.

Thank you @alexey.noskov for your assistance. It spares me much time of investigation and gives me guidelines how can I move in similar cases I’m investigating.
I am grateful for your effort to investigate this use case further.

1 Like

I have simplified the use case I described above as follows: