Evaluating ... Formfields/Bookmars

Hi Guys.

I am testing Aspose.Words, to see if it can be used in my application.

Currently I have a “Master” word document (Word 2002), with a lot of sections and Text formfields.

My VBA program creates a tender document, by copy/pasting different sections of the Master document into the tender. I then use the formfields to set specific field values (Customer Name, address, etc,) in the tender.

Instead of the Word VBA, I want to use Aspose.Words, so we can put it on a Webserver and automatically generate the document.

My first obstacle is to figure out the connection between formfields and bookmarks: In word, a formfield does not have a name, but a bookmark.

So how do I use the two collections: Range.FormFields and Range.Bookmarks, actually finding out which Formfield corresponds to which Bookmark?

When open my document in Aspose.Words, I can traverse through both the Formfields and Bookmarks, and find them, but not the connection!

Thanks in advance.

Michael Christoffersen

Hello Michael,

Thank you for considering Aspose.Words.

You can use FormField.Name property to get the name of the bookmark enclosing this form field.

If you have more questions I will be happy to answer them.

Best regards,

Well that was my first guess, but the Name property was empty for all the formfields. I can see, it is the right FormFields, because the Result shows the values.

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
Try
Dim oDoc As Document = New Document("C:\NDKTools\WordGen\FODAQUOTE1.doc")
For Each oField As FormField In oDoc.Range.FormFields
Debug.WriteLine(oField.Name)
Next
Catch ex As Exception
MsgBox("Failed to process document. " & vbNewLine & ex.Message)
End Try
End Sub