Export excel on the fly

Hi,

I am new to Aspose, so please guide me how I can use Aspose for my requirement explained below.

My application is REST based. We are using javax.ws.rs.* library. When user clicks ‘Export All Data’ button in UI, we need to download the data in Excel format. The data can be millions. So in the back-end java server code, we batch the data retrieval from db. For each batch, we need to append the data to excel. At the same time, we need to stream the excel that is generated to the user.

So build the file and send it to the user on the fly. I guess it’s possible using Aspose. Please share any link or example which I can refer for the same.

Thanks,
Sindhu

Hi,

Thanks for your posting and considering Aspose.Cells.

You can retrieve your data from your database into a resultset object and then import the date into worksheet from your resultset object. You can also save your workbook object into memory stream like byte stream and then send that stream as response stream from your webpage.

Please see the following documentation article that explains how to import the date into worksheet.

( Import and Export Data|Documentation )

Hi,

I am trying the options you suggested, also this API has been used in my company by different team. They are also helping me.

I have one quick question,
In my case, I cannot predict the number of sheets I am going to write at first. So can I create a new sheet when MAX_ROWS in the sheet limit has been reached ?

Thanks,
Sindhu

Hi Sindhu,

Thanks for your posting and considering Aspose.Cells.

Please use XLSX format, it supports 1 million records in a sheet i.e 1048576 rows.

You can add any number of worksheets using the following code. Please also see the article relating to managing worksheets for your reference.

( Manage Worksheets|Documentation )

Java
//Create workbook in XLSX format
Workbook wb = new Workbook(FileFormatType.XLSX);

int shtIdx = wb.getWorksheets().add();