Expressions in template generate empty lines

I am new to Aspose, and have been working through the documentation. We are attempting to create a template using Word, and Aspose expressions, so that a user can modify a word file using Aspose’s Expression syntax, then generate a document using that template.

One issue I am running into is that anywhere there is an expression line, Aspose inserts a carriage return, even if that expression is false, or is a control expression.

For example:
<<foreach [sample in Samples]>>
<<[sample.SampleText]:“format” -html >>
<>

The above set of code will generate n+2 lines (line line for the first foreach, which will be blank, one line for each sample, and one blank line for the end for each.

Another example:
<<[MyTable.First().Name]>>

If the row in the example above is null or empty, it still returns a carriage return in that section.

Is there any way to not have a carriage return if the resulting expression has no value? Likewise, is there a way to not have carriage returns on lines where there is an expression?

Otherwise, I end up with a whole bunch of carriage returns throughout the document.

Sorry if this is in the documentation and I have missed it.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

@jepthy,

Thanks for your inquiry. Please modify your template document as below. Hope this helps you.

<<foreach [sample in Samples]>><<[sample.SampleText]:“format” -html >><</foreach>>

<<if [MyTable.First().Name == null]>>
<<[MyTable.First().Name]>><</if>>

If you still face problem, please attach the following resources here for testing:

• Your input Word document.
  • Please attach the output Word file that shows the undesired behavior.
  • Please attach the expected output Word file that shows the desired behavior.
  • Please create a standalone console application (source code without compilation errors) that helps us to reproduce your problem on our end and attach it here for testing.