How to get rowIndex of record- searching by 2 columns' values

Hi,

I'm new to Aspose Cells .NET and I'm stuck with an issue. Please share some inputs on how to solve this issue. It would be grateful if you could reply me on this ASAP.

I have an excel worksheet something like the below.

Worksheet1

Column1 Column2 Column3
1 a 1
2 a 2
4 b 4
3 b 3
5 a 5

I have to get the rowindex of the record with Column2 value = 'b' and Column3 value = '4'. How do I get a record's rowIndex, by passing 2 columns' values of that record.

Can you please let me know how do i get it. Thanks a lot for helping me on this.

Thanks.

Hi,

Well, please first see the topic:
http://www.aspose.com/docs/display/cellsnet/Find+or+Search+Data

You need to first find out the cell (with row, col indices using cell.row and cell.column properties) that contains "b" value. Then you will browse other columns in the same row (where you found "b" value of the cell). If you find "4", then that's it, the row index is final, if not, then you have to search "b" again for other cells.... etc. You may implement your desired logic accordingly using Aspose.Cells APIs.

Thank you.

Thanks a lot for your response. This approach is fine if I have very less records in the worksheet. But if i have a worksheet with 10 lakhs records this approach will lead to performance issue. is there any way to search for a record with multiple column values at a time. Thanks again for clarifying this.

Hi,

Well, Aspose.Cells’ Find methods are efficient enough and it may search your data in the huge data list in very quick time, so there will be no performance issue no matter how many records (e.g 1 million records) are there in a worksheet. The Find functions provided by Aspose.Cells are equally matched with Find options provided by MS Excel regarding performance.