MailMerge with relational data

I am a complete newb to mail merging, so forgive me if this is an obvious question.

I have a DataSet containing a couple of tables and a DataRelation on the two tables tying them together in a one to many relationship (it is actually a company table and a contact table with a company ID foreign key).

Now I need to be able to mail merge with this DataSet. I can see that there is a MergeWithRegions method off the MailMerge object that takes a DataSet, and I’ve followed the example in the documentation, but I cannot get any output in my document.

This leads me to believe that there could be a problem with the field names in the document itself. I’ve tried uniquely naming my columns in my DataSet and having those as field names in the document but I always only get the base document with the field names in place, not replaced on the merge.

Can anyone help?

So, if I have a table called Company and a column called Name, and a table called Contact and a column called Name (or these can be unique as well), what should I call my field names to ensure that when I run MergeWithRegions that merge is successful.

Thanks,

Martin

Hey Martin,

Thanks for your question, and no worries regarding its obviousness. You are right, you should certainly call the ExecuteWithRegions method (I’m sure you meant it by MergeWithRegions ) but your template should have been prepared appropriately before execution. The essential thing is that each repeatable region should be enclosed between two special merge fields named TableStart:MyTable and TableEnd:MyTable where MyTable is the name of the table to fetch data from. The merge fields inside the defined regions must refer to table columns as usual.

For more info, please see this topic:

https://docs.aspose.com/words/net/mail-merge-and-reporting/

Feel free to post your further questions here

Dmitry,

Many thanks, I’ve got it working in a sense, just not the sense I was expecting I guess.