Preserving Cell Size from old to new worksheet

Greetings,

I'm a newbie to Aspose.Cells (v7.0.2) but I am trying to copy from one worksheet to another an want to preserve cell width (it's different in 6 different row) but everything new is being resized down to 8.11. I've tried apose.cells.CopyStyle/CopyData but to no avail. I get data right but column width still reduced.

WithIn Xcell you can do a copy and then paste special (column width) which does what I want but where does that feature translate in Aspose? (Java on a Windows platform).

Thanks Very Much in advance!

Mike W.

Hi,

I think, you should copy range data with style instead.

Please see the following article and see if it works for you. The code is in .NET but you can easily port it to Java.

Copy Range Data with Style

I've looked at the code suggested and it's setting up a style in the new workbook and not coping an existing workbook/sheet. That's what I am trying to do because the existing workbook is formated correctly and all I am trying to do is copy it existing cell settings.

Again I have setup a range in the old workbook and did a copyStyle and copyData but the width in the new cells all get the same size of 8.11 which is not correct.

Any other ideas/help is greatly appreciated.

Mike W

Hi,

What aspose.cells does is same with the behavior of Ms Excel. In Excel when you copy a cell range, you cannot get the cell size (column width) be copied too.

To get what you expected, we think you can reset the column width in given column range of the new sheet. The sample code:

Java

Cells cellsS = worksheets.get(0).getCells();

Cells cellsD = worksheets.get(1).getCells();

Range rS = cellsS.createRange(“A2:B3”);

Range rD = cellsD.createRange(“B5:C6”);

rD.copy(rS);

int colS = rS.getFirstColumn();

int colD = rD.getFirstColumn();

int count = rS.getColumnCount();

for(int i=0; i<count; i++)

{

cellsD.setColumnWidth(colD+i, cellsS.getColumnWidth(colS+i));

}

Hi,